Who are we?
The Watt Up! team

Watt Up! is the fruit of the imagination and creativity of its two co-founders:

Caroline Geny and Stéphane Beguet.

 

It is also the culmination of their life project that they reinvented a few years ago.

This is indeed a family out of the ordinary, their story is captivating…

 

 

“Once upon a time lived a step-family on the edge of Auvergne: Stéphane, Caroline and no less than 4 children, Maël, Loïc, Syel and Klervi.”

 

STEPHANE
Born in Auvergne, Stéphane worked as a professor of electrical engineering, a skipper, a craftsman, a father of Maël, Loïc and Syel, a consultant and a technician. He has been dreaming of long travels for more than 15 years. He has also undertaken a titanic project and spent 7 years of his life building his own catamaran. After the construction of the M’AlyséOci and a few years playing with it in the water, Caroline asked him to take her to discover this new life for two or six, depending on the week!

CAROLINE
Originally from Lorraine, she choosed Auvergne for her professional life. After having held senior management positions in local authorities and the voluntary sector, she chose boat life and travel with Stéphane. From the Mediterranean to Martinique, after a transtlantic catamaran, she adopted the island of flowers. Convinced by the green economy and sustainable tourism, the WATT UP project is a tourism and leisure innovation that Caroline wants to benefit the greatest number!

 

When their paths cross in 2012, they decide to take a break in the name of escape and discovery. Stéphane’s boat was finally finished, it seemed obvious to dive into their life project with this voyage escapade to the Atlantic, one of indefinite duration.

 

They had many common objectives

The wish to have time and to choose their rhythm of life
The desire and the curiosity to discover the world
The choice to leave the economic and social system in which they were inserted
The quest for adventure, the taste for surprise, the desire to marvel
The desire to live in a greener and simpler way

 

They then make the decision to cast off. The boat was docked, ready to go…

 

After a few long months of reflection and preparation, they seized the opportunity: resignations, sale of their material goods, logistics to see their children and bring them at each step of their journey…

 

Chronology of a trip
off the beaten track

September 2013 – November 8, 2013
The Mediterranean, 1st step of the trip

In September 2013, they leave Auvergne… they finally took the big step after six months of preparation… Resignation from work, starting point, moving out of the house, moving on board the boat in Marseille.

The last preparations are finally completed, it’s D-day: On November 8, 2013 the epic journey begins for Stéphane and Caroline with the 1st major stage of the trip, the crossing of the Mediterranean: Cape Barcelona, a ​​stay in the Balearic Islands, the crossing of the Strait of Gibraltar, a stop in Rabat, Morocco.

Then, they set sail for the Canaries, and finally Cape Verde, last stop before the big jump to the “transat”.

 

 

February 17, 2014
Leaving to cross the Atlantic

Seasoned by their quarter of navigation, the last preparations made, the Atlantic Ocean is theirs for the taking.

They leave on February 17 for 15 days at sea, like the great sailors during sailing races.

Stéphane sends us, through their blog, a very funny epilogue where he undermines conventional wisdom, often too idealized and not at all realistic.

“The transatlantic is the unique experience of man facing the sea, an experience and an inner reflection on the greatness of nature. After all, in summary, the transat is rather long and tiring, even annoying! It makes you feel lonely, sometimes like prisoner, often thrown by a very choppy swell away from the idyllic image of a gentle steady rocking…

From a “human” point of view, this experience, even long prepared, is possible only if one has confidence in himself and his crew. The inevitable promiscuity leaves no room for divergences of point of view about life on board.” 

By the end of February, they arrive in Martinique safe and sound with beautiful images in mind, under the burning sun of the Caribbean, proud to have accomplished this crossing.

 

 

March-May 2014
Discovering the Lesser Antilles

The small family then reunites and enjoys the next 4 months sailing and discovering the wonderful islands of the Lesser Antilles, Grenadines in the south to the islands of the north of the Archipelago. This magical escape, full of beautiful human encounters and moments of happiness does not make them forget the reality of things. Life on site is very expensive and savings are running out quickly.

They must make a choice: ​​return to France and reintegrate in the life they had before or “stay” and find a professional activity on site.

 

 

 

December 2014
Origin of the Kokoarum

At this time, Marin’s marina in Martinique began to experience a new economic boom with the opening of a new naval base. Shops are starting to emerge.

Stéphane and Caroline then have a bright idea:
open a Glacier-restaurant-Caribbean grill on the waterfront with homemade ice cream made on site and rum. Everything has to be invented, modeled in their image…

The Kokoarum is born.

 

 

 

From late May to mid-December 2014, they work hard and arrange the entire restaurant in a French West Indies spirit. December 15, 2014 is the opening of Kokoarum, a friendly and colorful place that declines according to the time of the day, from breakfast to Happy Hour!

Stéphane and Caroline will manage this business and make it prosper for more than 3 years.

 

2017, the birth of Watt Up!

But our two acolytes have a new idea in mind and a new project to design. They live, since their arrival in Martinique, on their boat anchored in the marina. Like many boaters, they are sensitive to the respect of their environment.

According to them, sustainable development must not rhyme with restriction and moroseness. On the contrary, we must associate it with fun and conviviality!

They then imagine a new economic project: the creation of a base to rent 100% electric vehicles, on land as at sea. To be done, this project requires their total availability. They decide to sell the restaurant to carry out their new adventure.

 

 

In June 2017, the Kokoarum is sold. A new odyssey begins:

it’s the origin of Watt Up!

 

Since June, Stéphane and Caroline have been working on creating the company, financed investments, unearned suppliers and the official opening is scheduled for early January 2018.

 

The Watt Up! team

 

 
 

ALLAN
Allan just joined the Watt Up team. This big-hearted adventurer is a trained sports educator. He holds a coastal license, he is a Jet Ski monitor and enjoys a remarkable knowledge of the coast of Martinique. Lover of the island, he loves to share the hidden corners of the coast of southern Martinique with his guests. Allan is warm, he has a sense of hospitality and he fell in love with the originality of the Watt Up project that corroborates with his personal beliefs about sustainable development.

LAURIANE
Lauriane has just joined the Watt Up! team. This 30-year-old from Oléron Island traveled the world for a few years as a GO at Club Med. Thus, she has always managed to reconcile her professional training in tourism with travel, boating and water sports. She completely masters the technical aspects related to the world of boating in particular.

PHILIPPE
Philippe is a sailor and an outstanding nautical technician, in love with the sea.
Originally from Marseille, he has always sailed: in the Mediterranean, in the Atlantic and recently in the Pacific. During his life, he built several sailboats (monohulls and catamarans), and that’s how they met with Stéphane. His last years, he lived in Martinique and worked at Régis Guillemot. After a loop in the Pacific, he is back and was immediately excited about the Watt Up!

Qui sommes-nous ?
L'équipe Watt Up !

Watt Up ! est le fruit de l’imagination et de la créativité de ses deux co-fondateurs :

Caroline Geny et Stéphane Beguet.

 

C’est aussi l’aboutissement de leur projet de vie qu’ils ont réinventé quelques années auparavant.

Il s’agit en effet d’une famille hors du commun, leur histoire est captivante…

 

 

« Once upon a time vivait au confins de l’Auvergne, une famille recomposée : Stéphane, Caroline et pas moins de 4 enfants, Maël, Loïc, Syel et Klervi. »

 

STEPHANE
Né en Auvergne, Stéphane est tour à tour professeur d’électrotechnique, skipper, artisan, papa de Maël, Loïc et Syel, consultant, technicien. Il rêve de voyage aux longs courts depuis plus de 15 ans. Il a d’ailleurs entrepris un chantier titanesque et a passé 7 ans de sa vie à construire son propre catamaran. Après la construction du M’AlyséOci et quelques années à faire des ronds dans l’eau, il ne manquait plus que Caroline pour lui demander de l’emmener découvrir cette nouvelle vie tous les deux, ou six, en fonction des semaines !

CAROLINE
Originaire de Lorraine, elle a adopté l’Auvergne par le hasard de sa vie professionnelle.  Après avoir occupé des fonctions de cadre dirigeant dans les collectivités territoriales et le secteur associatif, elle a choisi la vie de bateau et le voyage avec Stéphane.  De la Méditerrannée jusqu’en Martinique, après une transtlantique en catamaran, elle a adopté l’île aux fleurs. Convaincue par l’économie verte et le tourisme durable, le projet WATT UP est une innovation touristique et de loisirs dont Caroline veut faire profiter le plus grand nombre!

 

 

Quand leurs chemins se croisent en 2012, ils décident de s’offrir une parenthèse d’évasion et de découverte. Le bateau de Stéphane était enfin terminé, il semblait évident d’avancer dans leur projet de vie avec cette escapade voyageuse en Atlantique à durée indéterminée.

 

Leurs objectifs communs étaient multiples

Le souhait d’avoir du temps et de choisir leur rythme de vie
L’envie et la curiosité de découvrir le monde
Le choix de sortir du système économique et social dans lequel ils étaient insérés
La quête de l’aventure, le goût de la surprise, le désir de s’émerveiller
L’envie de vivre sur un mode plus écologique et plus simple

 

Ils prennent alors la décision de larguer les amarres. Le bateau était à quai, prêt à partir…

 

Après quelques longs mois de réflexion et de préparations, ils ont alors saisi cette opportunité : démissions, vente de leurs biens matériels, logistique pour voir leurs enfants et les faire venir à chaque étape de leur voyage…

Chronologie d'un voyage
hors des sentiers battus

Septembre 2013 – 8 novembre 2013
La Méditerranée, 1ère étape du voyage

En septembre 2013, c’est le départ d’Auvergne… le grand pas est enfin franchi après six mois de préparation… Démission du travail, pot de départ, déménagement de la maison, emménagement à bord du bateau à Marseille.

Les derniers préparatifs enfin terminés, c’est le jour J : le 8 novembre 2013 l’épopée commence pour Stéphane et Caroline avec la 1ère grande étape du voyage, la traversée de la Méditerranée : Cap sur Barcelone, séjour aux Baléares, traversée du détroit de Gibraltar, halte à Rabat au Maroc.

Puis, ils mettent le cap vers les Canaries, et enfin le Cap Vert, dernière escale avant le grand saut de la « transat ».

 

 

17 février 2014
Départ de la Transatlantique

Aguerris par leur trimestre de navigation, les derniers préparatifs effectués, l’océan Atlantique s’offre alors à eux.

Départ le 17 février pour 15 jours de mer, à l’instar des grands navigateurs lors des courses à la voile.

Stéphane nous livre à travers leur blog un épilogue très drôle où il met à mal les idées reçues, souvent trop idéalisées et pas du tout réalistes.

« La transatlantique c’est l’expérience unique de l’homme face à la mer, une expérience et une réflexion intérieure face à la grandeur de la nature. Finalement, en résumé, la transat c’est plutôt long et fatiguant, voire énervant ! On s’y sent seul, parfois prisonnier, souvent balloté par une houle très hachée loin de l’image idyllique d’un doux bercement continu…

Niveau « humain » cette expérience même longuement préparée, n’est possible que si l’on a confiance en soi et en son équipage. La promiscuité inévitable ne laisse aucune pace à des divergences de point de vue sur la vie à bord. » 

Fin février, ils sont arrivés en Martinique sain et sauf avec de belles images dans la tête, sous le soleil brûlant de la Caraïbe, fiers d’avoir accompli cette traversée.

 

 

Mars-mai 2014
Découverte des Petites Antilles

La petite famille se réunit alors et profite durant 4 mois en naviguant et en découvrant les îles merveilleuses des Petites Antilles, des Grenadines au sud jusqu’aux îles du nord de l’Archipel. Cette échappée magique, pleine de belles rencontres humaines et de moments de bonheur ne leur fait pas oublier la réalité des choses. La vie sur place est très chère et les économies s’épuisent rapidement.

Un choix s’impose alors : rentrer en France et réintégrer la vie d’avant ou « rester » en trouvant une activité professionnelle sur place.

 

 

 

Décembre 2014
Genèse du Kokoarum

À cette époque, la Marina du Marin en Martinique commence à prendre un nouvel essor économique avec l’ouverture de la nouvelle base nautique. Des commerces commencent à émerger.

Stéphane et Caroline ont alors une idée lumineuse :
ouvrir un Glacier-restaurant- caribbean grill sur le front de mer avec glaces maison réalisées sur place et rhumerie. Tout est à inventer, à modeler à leur image…

C’est la naissance du Kokoarum.

 

 

 

De fin mai à mi décembre 2014, ils travaillent d’arrache-pied et aménagent eux-mêmes tout le restaurant dans un esprit French West Indies. Le 15 décembre 2014 c’est l’ouverture du Kokoarum, un endroit convivial et coloré qui se décline selon l’heure de la journée du petit-déjeuner jusqu’à l’Happy Hour !

Stéphane et Caroline vont gérer cette affaire et la faire prospérer durant plus de 3 ans.

 

2017, la naissance de Watt Up !

Mais nos deux acolytes ont une nouvelle idée en tête et un nouveau projet à concevoir. Ils vivent depuis leur arrivée en Martinique sur leur bateau ancré dans la marina. Comme bon nombre de plaisanciers, ils sont sensibles au respect de leur environnement.

Selon eux, le développement durable ne doit pas rimer avec restriction et morosité. Au contraire, on doit l’associer au fun et à la convivialité !

Ils imaginent alors un nouveau projet économique : la création d’une base de location de véhicules 100% électriques, sur terre comme sur mer. Pour être réalisé, ce projet nécessite une disponibilité totale. Ils décident alors de vendre le restaurant pour mener à bien leur nouvelle aventure.

 

 

En juin 2017, le Kokoarum est vendu. Une nouvelle odyssée commence :

c’est la genèse de Watt Up !

 

Depuis le mois de juin, Stéphane et Caroline ont créé la société, financé les investissements, déniché des fournisseurs et l’ouverture officielle est prévue pour début janvier 2018.

 

L'équipe de Watt Up !

 

 

ALLAN
Allan fait parti de l’équipe de Watt Up ! Ce baroudeur au grand cœur est éducateur sportif de formation. Il est titulaire du permis côtier ,du Monitorat de jet ski et bénéficie d’une remarquable connaissance des côtes de la Martinique. Amoureux de l’île, il adore partager avec ses convives, les petits coins cachés du littoral du sud de la Martinique. Allan est chaleureux, il a le sens de l’accueil et il a eu un coup de cœur pour l’originalité du projet de Watt Up qui corrobore avec ses convictions personnelles sur le développement durable.

LAURIANE
Lauriane vient de rejoindre l’équipe de Watt Up ! Cette trentenaire, originaire de l’Île d’Oléron, a sillonné le monde durant quelques années en tant que GO au Club Med. Ainsi, elle a toujours réussi à concilier sa formation professionnelle en tourisme avec voyages, nautisme et sports de glisse. Elle maîtrise les aspects techniques liés au monde du nautisme notamment.

PHILIPPE
Philippe est un marin et un technicien nautique hors pair, amoureux de la Mer. Marseillais d’origine, il a toujours navigué : en Méditerranée, en Atlantique et dernièrement dans le Pacifique. Durant sa vie, il a construit plusieurs voiliers (monocoques et catamarans), et c’est comme cela qu’ils se sont rencontrés avec Stéphane. Ses dernières années, il a vécu en Martinique et travaillé chez Régis Guillemot. Après une boucle dans le Pacifique, il est de retour et a tout de suite été enthousiasmé par le projet Watt Up !